Reviews

AC&R Construction, Plumbing, & Electrical Reviews

This monthly only

$500 OFF Kitchen Remodel

Home » Reviews
5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 29 reviews)

Meticulous and quality work!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 23, 2021

Gilbert and his man Alfredo did great work remodeling my spiral staircase in my Whittier home built in 1933. I tore out the carpet covering the stairs after I moved in to find a damaged mess. Gilbert and Alfredo put in brand new oak stairs with staggering tile and plywood risers. It is meticulous and quality work. I will be using AC&R for future home projects and would recommend them to friends and family. In addition to their hard work, I appreciated their timeliness and consistent communication. Gilbert answers his phone right away and I felt I could trust him and his employee in my home alone while I was at work. 5 stars, thank you!

J. Piponnian

Professional and Focused

Rated 5 out of 5
April 6, 2021

My master bathroom was recently renovated by this comp. The employees were professional and focused. They also cleaned after themselves after every job. Time-line was a bit extended due to covid-19 but quality of service was still on point. Robert and his team did a great job.

L. Moon

Definitely recommend!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 1, 2021

I recently had a minor flood in my house (washing machine drain backed up) which caused my luxury vinyl planks (LVP) to warp thus requiring us to change out our flooring. Since the entire house had continuous flooring, it all had to be replaced. I worked with our insurance (kudos to AAA) and came to a final settlement. At that point, it was up to me to either use the general contractor who did the estimate or find my own – my choice. I got 3 additional estimates beside the AAA contractor and decided to go with AC&R. I have used about a dozen contractors over the past 2 decades remodeling my homes and fixers that I purchased. This is by far the best contractor I have dealt with. The scope of my project included replacing the flooring, installing & uninstalling a commercial refrig/freezer, dual fuel range, washer/dryer, bathroom vanity, cabinetry, and baseboards. Why did I pick AC&R. I chose them for several reasons – they are licensed in general contracting, flooring, electrical, and plumbing. This is actually very rare as most are GCs who sub out work and thus you, the consumer, pay extra. Another reason was they were a long-term company in my local area – the company is based in my city and the owner lives in the adjoining city for over 30 years!. And lastly, when they came out to do the estimate, they brought their project manager, Gilbert (looks like Elvis!) who was going to be the day-to-day manager overseeing the project. Next I will say, I am a bit OCD when it comes to remodeling. I create spreadsheets comparing estimates, list pros/cons, etc. before I make a decision. I have also acted as the GC on other projects which I hire each person individually – that is truly a pain in the a**. I used the mantra of “one throat to choke” when making the final decision. I like that AC&R did it all, so no one could blame someone else for something. As a mother, I know it is “always someone else’s fault”. Robert (Owner) and Gilbert (Project Manager) told me it would take about 2-3 weeks to complete the project and it did. No excuses. They worked Monday thru Saturday for 3 weeks (total of 15 full days and 2 half days) to complete the job. Their crew was on time, clean, and respectful of my property – a nice change from other contractors. One difference that I noted is most contractors work from about 7a-4p, AC&R work from about 9a-6p – no problem, just different and I got to sleep in. Gilbert was my point of contact for everything. He showed up almost every morning to review how things we going and on those days when it wasn’t really necessary, he kept in touch with me via phone or text. And, when I needed to reach him on a Sunday to follow-up on an issue – HE ANSWERED THE PHONE! Besides the qualify of the work being excellent, they are very professional. They are a “real” company with office workers, employees, insurance, workers comp, etc. I needed a certificate of completion for insurance and no problem, I had it the next day. Lastly, part of being a real company is that they have sufficient cash flow to allow them to pay their employees and accept appropriate progress payments. For those that don’t what I mean, I have had contractors ask me for advance payments on work because they need to pay employees on a Friday even though the work is not yet done – NEVER do this. AC&R setup agreed upon progress payments and never asked for a penny before the work was completed. Definitely recommend!

D. Berglas

Kitchen remodeling

Rated 5 out of 5
March 29, 2021

Steve and his crew did a great job with our project and was prompt in responding to our questions throughout the process. The cabinet looks beautiful. Thank you Steve and Allen.

M. Santos

Made our dream come true!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 26, 2021

This review is a little overdue. We had the work done over the summer 2020. I am always skeptical about hiring contractors because of the many horror stories you hear in dealings with them. I have to say that AC&R was awesome, and I highly recommend them. Our project started with Chuck. We had an appointment with him coming to our house. We went over our vision for a new kitchen, 2 bathrooms, flooring in the entire house, canned lighting in the kitchen, dining room, living room and refacing the fireplace. I enjoyed his many stories and tales. Then we met Robert, the owner. He was a pleasure to work with and it shows with his excitement in creating our vision in getting us to the finished product. One thing that we liked was AC&R has their own employees. We were scheduled to begin last March then Covid started. We were uncomfortable having people in our house at the beginning of Covid. They said, “No Problem” and to let them know when we were ready. We were ready in June as we were anxious to get going. There is a team at AC&R to always keep things moving. We met Kimberley at the showroom to pick out materials for our projects. The Production Manager/Foreman, Steve Garcia, is Robert’s right-hand man and keeps everything running smoothly. Steve kept me updated daily of what was going to be worked on and which workers were going to be there the next day. It was a pleasure working with Steve on this project and I enjoyed talking to him daily. He would listen to my concerns and my many ideas I had throughout the entire project and would make adjustments as necessary. He would also make suggestions which I valued. Steve was very accommodating when I wanted to take a last-minute vacation for a week during the construction time. The entire project was quoted taking 5 to 6 weeks and that is where it landed plus an additional week for our vacation. In the end we are incredibly happy with the look of our “New” house. I do not think we could have asked for a better contractor to make our vision come true.

E. Martinez

Fantastic Job!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 25, 2021

Gilbert and Robert did a fantastic job on our bathroom remodel and entry door installation. The responsiveness was off the chart good. Every single time I called Gilbert, he actually answered the phone. Every text message was promptly answered. It was such a pleasure working with people that like their jobs and know how to do the work.

K. Kline

High quality workmanship1

Rated 5 out of 5
March 22, 2021

A.C& R Construction completely renovated our master bathroom. The tub was removed and replaced with a beautiful custom acrylic floor to ceiling shower and custom shower doors, new flooring, sink and custom cabinet with custom top. We have an older home with plaster walls. The tub and original shower tile had to be demoed. The crews carefully blocked of this part of the home and used an air filtration system to keep the dust to a minimum. All hardwood flooring leading to the construction was carefully protected during construction. I particularly want to commend Steve Garcia, the Production Manager/Forman for his scheduling, daily job planning and supervision of his crew. Steve was always courteous, the job was completed on time with high quality workmanship.

D. Walter

I highly recommend them!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 20, 2021

AC&R Construction did an awesome job on my shower install. The staff was very professional especially Florice (office mgr.) keeping me updated on each step of the process. I highly recommend them!

J. Quezada

Fantastic job!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 1, 2021

Gilbert and Robert did a fantastic job on our bathroom remodel and entry door installation. The responsiveness was off the chart good. Every single time I called Gilbert, he actually answered the phone. Every text message was promptly answered. It was such a pleasure working with people that like their jobs and know how to do the work.

K. Kline

A.C& R Construction completely renovated our master bathroom.

Rated 5 out of 5
January 20, 2021

The tub was removed and replaced with a beautiful custom acrylic floor to ceiling shower and custom shower doors, new flooring, sink and custom cabinet with custom top

D. Walter

I highly recommend them!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 17, 2021

AC&R Construction did an awesome job on my shower install. The staff was very professional especially Florice (office mgr.) keeping me updated on each step of the process.

J. Quezada

I just can’t say enough!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 5, 2021

We initially met with, Owner Robert Salas to review kitchen layout redesign that included wall modification. Robert came prepared with a copy of his license and insurance certificate. His evaluation of this project was thorough and quality with no short cuts that may cause issues with structural support integrity. He promised quality and project involvement at our first meeting.
His expectations from his team and equal to his own high standards. We had already selected someone else to do the the cabinetry; but, had not finalized commitment. Robert asked if he could provide a bid for other cabinetry. His team, in the meantime, immediately started construction on the wall redesign. After we saw the quality of their work, professionalism and respect for our property we were sold and the project grew to not only the kitchen cabinetry; but, wet bar and bathroom remodel. They also did electrical (including re-routing electrical, adding outlets and additional circuits), plumbing (including redirecting water lines), fabrication and installation of quartzite for the kitchen, wet bar and bathroom. Robert’s team also replaced and textured new drywall. Once we saw the quality and reasonable pricing, we wanted to take advantage of getting everything done with Robert’s Company.
This is what they did to knock our experience out of the park:
Helped with design that ended up absolutely beautiful and functional.
Lived up to their commitment for complete satisfaction.
Reliable, Professional & Trustworthy
Reasonably priced
Steady pace on construction
We had purchased some high end appliances and they insured that they were handled with care and protected during construction.
Owner involvement is regular and steady throughout project.
Project Coordinator Florice was wonderful and fun to work with. Extremely knowledgeable, responsive and helpful with advice on cabinet selection and even made lighting suggestions that turned out beautiful!!!
No nickle and diming or recommending things that are not necessary.
The project progress payments are super fair and easy to process and track on the project management website that they use. You can even track the progress of the project with their photos, etc.
I initially found A C & R through yelp and really could not believe all the great reviews; but, now absolutely understand having our own experience. There is no way we could have had a better experience and thoroughly appreciate the experience and final outcome. I just can’t say enough!

K. Carroll

As promised!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 1, 2021

Robert was great with communication and got the work done timely as promised. Any questions or concerns we had were addressed immediately without us having to hound them. Would highly recommend them.

K. Pham

Thank you Robert & Staff!!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 1, 2020

I called on Robert over a year ago to install my showers. He provided excellent service then and again today when I needed my whole house Re-wired to install hardwired smoke detectors. He even finished the job 4 days before his initial date. His crew was fast and efficient. They checked Re-checked and triple check their own work to make sure it was right and of course Robert showed up before and after the job. Proving again I can trust him. Thank you Robert & Staff!!!!

D. duffie

You promised to work with me and did just that

Rated 5 out of 5
November 18, 2020

Dear Mr. Salas,
I’m writing to tell you how pleased I am with the tile work and shower work installation done by your company. I’m especially happy with the work of Steve Garcia and his crew. I appreciated that you came personally to give me an estimate. You promised to work with me and did just that. Your estimate was fair and there were no extra hidden charges later. I appreciated that your company picked up and delivered my tile at no additional cost.
The workers showed up on time every day and worked quietly and without disturbing me. They were always polite, introducing themselves and letting me know when they were leaving. I was impressed that they made a path out of cardboard through my den so they wouldn’t dirty the floor coming in and out of the house. They also made a plastic tunnel so the dust from the demolition wouldn’t spread through the house. At the end of the job they cleaned up thoroughly and didn’t leave me with a mess.
Steve explained options for the niche and was very helpful when I had to decide the size of the niche at the height of the shower doors. He even suggested using the floor tile for the niche. He spent extra time with me showing me all the possibilities. He never seemed rushed or upset that I asked so many questions. He came often to check the progress of the work. He always told me what the men would do the next day, when they would come and when they would leave. He had them install a small piece of floor molding at no extra cost. He personally filled in a small area with caulk for me. Each time he came he talked quietly with the workers in the garage to tell them what needed to be done. Whenever I called Steve, he promptly returned my calls and answered all my questions. One time he showed up in 10 minutes after I called about something. He was extremely polite and accommodating.
The shower door installer came to show me the door handle and hardware styles. I appreciated that he spent the time explaining the options to me. The tile installer was neat, efficient and quiet. He left me extra tile and grout without being asked. I have nothing but praise for your company. Please let Steve and his workers know that I wrote to compliment their work. I plan to use your company again when I replace my kitchen counters and the bath vanity top. I would like Steve to handle the job.

J. S

Passion in their work!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 18, 2020

On May 10,2019 we agreed to remodel our kitchen with A.C.& R. Construction. We were
impressed with their communication and “not” being pushy.
From the beginning to the end of the project the working crew were neat and clean at all times,
showing passion in their work.
We were really blown away during demolition when there was very little dust because of the
equipment being used.
Most of all they have an amazing Project Manager: Steve Garcia. Every time I called him when
there was an issue he would always answer the phone without any hesitation. He listened to my
issue with a positive attitude and settled the problem. It meant a lot to us!
We truly believe this stems from the owner: Robert Salas
We absolutely recommend anyone to this company!

J. V

Excellent!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 18, 2020

This is for extra work done by your workers on my shower unit at the home of James & Susan Rutledge. The service rendered by your workers was excellent and I will recommend anyone to call you for any services they need.

J. R

Thank you again for everything!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 18, 2020

Thank you again for everything! Our house looks amazing and we are grateful for all of the work you and your crew did to make it beautiful. Appreciate it!!!
Best Always,

A. H

We Love It!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 18, 2020

A.C.R. Family – We sent in the survey but just wanted to more personally thank you for such a beautiful bathroom! We love it!
Everyone was especially nice and so easy to work with, (Including your after staff). And a thank you to Steve for doing such a great job keeping everyone, including us, organized and on schedule. It was a real leisure to work with all of you.
Thanks so much.
Carol & John

C. John

Great Job!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2, 2020

We had a very difficult bathroom remodel with plumbing moved and added and electrical added. The bathroom was done in a timely manner. My wife is very detail oriented and we were both very pleased with the finished product. Robert was very professional, easy to work with and very attentive to our project and its needs.

M. Day

Thank you Robert & Staff!!!!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 1, 2020

I called on Robert over a year ago to install my showers. He provided excellent service then and again today when I needed my whole house Re-wired to install hardwired smoke detectors. He even finished the job 4 days before his initial date. His crew was fast and efficient. They checked Re-checked and triple check their own work to make sure it was right and of course Robert showed up before and after the job. Proving again I can trust him. Thank you Robert & Staff!!!!

D. duffie

Highly Recommend!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 1, 2020

I’m writing to tell you how pleased I am with the tile work and shower door installation done by your company. I’m especially happy with the work of Steve Garcia and his crew.

I appreciated that you came personally to give me an estimate. You promised to work with me and did just that. Your estimate was fair and there were no extra hidden charges later. I appreciated that your company picked up and delivered my tile at no additional cost.

The workers showed up on time every day and worked quietly and without disturbing me. They were always polite, introducing themselves and letting me know when they were leaving. I was impressed that they made a path out of cardboard through my den so they wouldn’t dirty the floor coming in and out of the house. They also made a plastic tunnel so the dust from the demolition wouldn’t spread through the house. At the end of the job they cleaned up thoroughly and didn’t leave me with a mess.

Steve explained options for the niche and was very helpful when I had to decide the size of the niche and the height of the shower doors. He even suggested using the floor tile for the niche. He spent extra time with me showing me all the possibilities. He never seemed rushed or upset that I asked so many questions. He came often to check the progress of the work. He always told me what the men would do the next day, when they would come and when they would leave. He had them install a small piece of floor molding at no extra cost. He personally filled in a small area with caulk for me. Each time he came he talked quietly with the workers in the garage to tell them what needed to be done. Whenever I called Steve, he promptly returned my calls and answered all my questions. One time he showed up in 10 minutes after I had called about something. He was extremely polite and accommodating.

The shower door installer came to show me door handle and hardware styles. I appreciated that he spent the time explaining the options to me.
The tile installer was neat, efficient and quiet. He left me extra tile and grout without being asked.
I have nothing but praise for your company. Please let Steve and his workers know that I wrote to compliment their work. I plan to use your company again when I replace my kitchen counters and the bath vanity top. I would like Steve to handle the job.

J. CA

Very professional!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 25, 2020

Great quality work (even my wife was impressed). Honest. Good communicator. Professional. Plan to hire again to do some kitchen tiling and bathroom remodeling.

R. R

They were a pleasure to work with!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2020

During a recent rainstorm, I discovered a leak somewhere in the wall of my home. Robert was able to come and diagnose the problem the same day I called, and his crew was there the next morning to make the repair. When the rain continued later that day, my home stayed completely dry. Everything was done in less than 24 hours. I am very pleased with the efficiency and thoroughness of ACR Construction. Robert and his crew were polite and considerate during the repairs and I will be recommending them to friends and family.

M. T

Top notch work!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 22, 2020

A.C.R Construction is top-notch. Excellent service, professional and honest. We highly recommend using ACR for large and small home improvement projects. The staff and owner were easy to work with, friendly, dependable and reliable.

R. B

Awesome job!

Rated 5 out of 5
June 5, 2020

ACR Construction did an awesome job on my wood floors, walls, paint, molding, electrical, etc. they made my place even better after my water damage. They are very nice and asked exactly what I wanted. So glad I hired them.

S.

Excellent Job!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 30, 2020

I chose A.C.R. on the basis of their 5 star rating, and I WASN’T disappointed! I am thoroughly satisfied with the work as well as the professional manner in which my job was handled from beginning to end. I will definitely be calling them again in the very near future for other work that needs to be done and will happily provide their name to family and friends looking for great contracting services!!

K. A

Great Job!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 15, 2020

AC & R did a bedroom remodel with structural improvements including a new roof… Not only were they courteous but on time and CLEAN! I’ve never had a contractor with workers that worked as fast and cleaned up every day, since we had to live in our home during the remodel. Thx Mr. Salas for your excellent job! My wife and I will be calling again!

S. Palmer

Very happy

Rated 5 out of 5
March 13, 2020

You’re always a little apprehensive when you undertake a remodeling project but Robert Salas made it easy and took care of all my concerns. Ruffo is an excellent tile installer and the rest of the guys were great too. i would consider AC & R Construction for my future projects.

E. V
Other Remodeling Services
Serving Greater Los Angeles
Hear From our Customers
5/5
Play Video
GET FREE QUOTE

Call Now! (714) 529-1997

Sale Ends Soon 07-01-2021

$500 Off

Kitchens, Bathrooms, & More!
GET FREE QUOTE

GET A FREE QUOTE